You are here : Home > BIG > Photo-assisted reduction of nitrous oxide by bio-inspired copper complexes

Photo-assisted reduction of nitrous oxide by bio-inspired copper complexes


​Master in Chemistry - Sujet de stage de Master 2
Published on 12 September 2017



Laboratory: Chemistry and Biology of Metals laboratory
Head: Dr. Stéphane Ménage
Name of the team: Bioinorganic Chemistry and Environment (BioCE)
Head of the team: Dr. Stéphane Ménage
Name and quality of the internship’s head: Dr. Stéphane Torelli, PhD, HDR
Address: Bâtiment K’, 17 avenue des martyrs, 38054 Grenoble cedex 9
Phone: 04 38 78 91 07
Master 2: Chemistry for Life Sciences (CLS) - Organic Synthesis (SOIPA)

Photo-assisted reduction of nitrous oxide by bio-inspired copper complexes

Internship's main goals:
The internship aims at preparing bio-inspired copper complexes for nitrous oxide (N2O) reduction and to initiate an original approach that will associate these active complexes with photosensitive subunits as electron suppliers. The latter will have reduction properties adapted to allow photo-induced catalysis. This approach will be first tested at a bimolecular level (Cu catalysts + Ru photo in mixture). In case of success, a covalent Ru-Cu dyad combining both metal ions in a same molecular organic unit will be considered. Reactivity studies will also be undertaken to characterize reaction intermediates.

Educational interests and skills targeted:
This internship will be multidisciplinary. It combines organic synthesis, inorganic and spectroscopic studies. The laboratory has a wide variety of techniques, ranging from UV-Vis-NIR, to EPR via Mössbauer spectroscopies. It offers a broad view of what is being done in the laboratory. Some experiments will be carried out under an inert atmosphere. The candidate will therefore be sensitized to these particular manipulations.

Abstract:
Nitrous oxide reductase (N2Or) is a Cu-containing metalloenzyme with a tetranuclear [Cu4S] active center (Figure 1). It catalyzes the 2 electrons reduction of N2O to N2 and H2O. N2O in nowadays considered as a main environmental pollutant due to its propensity to destroy the ozone layer and to promote greenhouse effect. In the laboratory, minimalists bio-inspired dinuclear mixed valence Cu2S (CuIICuI) models have been synthesized and have shown a stoichiometric N2Or activity.1-3 The actual aim is to develop a catalytic version that involves the reduction of the identified final oxidized dicopper (II) species. The electrons needed for this process will be here provided by natural light via sensitization of a Ru(II) chromophore (eq.2). This original approach is also bio-inspired from Nature since photosystem II is capable of converting photon to light in association with water oxidation. Under irradiation, the excited state (RuII*) will perform a reducing quenching of the final CuIICuII center in order to regenerate the active CuIICuI species (equ. 3 and 4). Within the team, such an approach has already shown its interest for oxidation catalysis thanks to copper complexes assisted by a photosensitive Ru center.4

2 Cu2II,I + N2O → 2 Cu2II,II + N2 (1)
RuII + Hν → RuII* (2)
2 RuII* + 2 Cu2II,II→ 2 Cu2II,I + 2 RuIII (3)
RuIII + sacrificial electron donor → RuII (4)
 
 
Figure 1. Active sites of the NuOr (CuZ* on the left and CuZ on the right). Green: copper; red: oxygen; yellow: sulfur; blue: nitrogen.

Approaches & material used:
The internship will be based in part on laboratory results. It will be based on the preparation of corresponding mono and dinucleating ligands and the associated mixed valence (II, I) complexes. The trainee will be sensitized to the techniques commonly used in the laboratory (NMR, RPE, UV-Vis, electrochemistry, ...) and will be able, depending on the progresses, to collaborate with partner laboratories. Specific techniques related to the reactivity study (HPLC, GC-MS) will also be discussed.

Technical skills needed :
Organic synthesis, inorganic synthesis, spectroscopy, reactivity studies

Internship’s date:
January to june 2018
In order to meet the deadline for entry to the CEA (3 months for the SPAS), the candidate must present himself as soon as possible.

Top page

Concerning N2Or

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > BIG > Réduction photo-assistée de l’oxyde nitreux par des complexes de cuivre bio-inspirés

Réduction photo-assistée de l’oxyde nitreux par des complexes de cuivre bio-inspirés


​Master in Chemistry - Sujet de stage de Master 2
Publié le 12 septembre 2017



Laboratoire : Laboratoire de Chimie et Biologie des Métaux
Directeur : Stéphane Ménage
Intitulé de l'équipe : BioCE
Responsable : S. Ménage
Nom et Qualité du Responsable du Stage : Stéphane Torelli, PhD, HDR
Adresse : Bâtiment K’, 17 avenue des martyrs, 38054 Grenoble cedex 9
Tél : 04 38 78 91 07
Parcours de Master 2 : Chemistry for Life Sciences (CLS) - Organic Synthesis (SOIPA)

Réduction photo-assistée de l’oxyde nitreux par des complexes de cuivre bio-inspirés

Objectifs visés du stage :
Le stage vise à préparer des complexes de cuivre bio-inspirés de la réductase de N2O et d’initier une approche originale qui sera d’associer ces complexes actifs à des sous-unités photosensibles. Ces dernières auront des propriétés de réduction adaptées pour permettre une catalyse photo-induite. En cas de succès une dyade combinant de manière covalente ces deux acteurs pourra être envisagée. Les études de réactivité seront également entreprises pour caractériser des intermédiaires réactionnels.

Intérêts pédagogiques et compétences visées :
Ce stage sera pluridisciplinaire. Il combine de la synthèse organique, inorganique et des études spectroscopiques. Le laboratoire dispose d’une large variété de techniques, qui vont de l’UV-Vis, à la RPE en passant par la spectroscopie Mössbauer. Il offre une vision large de ce qui se fait au laboratoire. Certaines expériences se feront sous atmosphère inerte. Le candidat sera donc sensibilisé à ces manipulations particulières.

Résumé :
La réductase de l’oxyde nitreux (N2Or) est une métalloenzyme à centre actif tétranucléaire du cuivre de bas degrés d’oxydation (Figure 1). Elle catalyse la réduction à 2 électrons de N2O en N2 et H2O. Au laboratoire, des modèles dinucléaires bio-inspirés à cœur Cu2S et à valence mixte (CuIICuI) ont été synthétisés et ont montré une activité N2Or stœchiométrique.1-3 L’objectif est maintenant de développer une version catalytique qui passe par la réduction des complexes CuIICuII finaux identifiés après un tour (éq. 1). Nous proposons ici d’utiliser de manière originale la lumière comme source d’électron (comme le photosystème II) et ce par la sensibilisation d’un complexe polypyridinique de Ru(II) (éq. 2). Sous irradiation, l’état excité (RuII*) effectuera un quenching réducteur du centre CuIICuII pour reformer CuIICuI actif (éqs. 3 et 4). Au sein de l’équipe, une telle approche a déjà montré tout son intérêt pour de la catalyse d’oxydation grâce à des complexes de cuivre assistée par un centre Ru photosensible.4

2 Cu2II,I + N2O → 2 Cu2II,II + N2 (1)
RuII + Hν → RuII* (2)
2 RuII* + 2 Cu2II,II→ 2 Cu2II,I + 2 RuIII (3)
RuIII + donneur sacrificiel → RuII (4)
 

 
Figure 1. Sites actifs (CuZ* à gauche et CuZ à droite) de la N2Or. Vert : cuivre ; rouge : oxygène ; jaune : soufre ; bleu : azote.

Approches & matériels utilisés :
Le stage s’appuiera partiellement sur des résultats du laboratoire. Il s’articulera autour de la préparation de ligands mono et dinucléants de cuivre (I) ou valence mixte (II,I) correspondants. Le stagiaire sera sensibilisé aux techniques couramment utilisées au laboratoire (RMN, RPE, UV-Vis, électrochimie,...) et pourra si l’occasion se présente, participer aux collaborations avec des laboratoires partenaires. Les techniques particulières liées à l’étude de réactivité (HPLC, GC-MS) seront également abordées.

Domaines de compétences souhaitées du candidat :
Synthèse Organique, synthèse Inorganique, Spectroscopie, étude de réactivité

Dates du stage :
Janvier-Juin 2018
Afin de respecter le délai nécessaire aux formalités d’entrée au CEA (3 mois pour le SPAS), le candidat devra se manifester le plus rapidement possible.

Haut de page

Sur la N2Or