You are here : Home > PCV lab > -- Team 4.0 Plants, Stress & M ... > Research topics > Characterization of the micro-algae Coccomyxa actinabiotis

The Plants, Stress & Metals team

Characterization of the micro-algae Coccomyxa actinabiotis

Published on 24 November 2016



Coccomyxa actinabiotis, a Microalga Extremely Resistant to Ionizing Radiation and to Metals: Fundamental and Applied Aspects.
We characterized the properties of a new microalga discovered in a high ionizing radiation nuclear environment. This alga was isolated from a pool used to store spent fuel elements in a nuclear reactor. The new species, identified at the morphological, biochemical and genomic level, belongs to the Coccomyxa genus and was named Coccomyxa actinabiotis, from the characteristics of the place it lives in (Rivasseau et al. 2010; 2013). Its radioresistance evaluated using physiological and metabolic analyses is outstanding for a eukaryote. C. actinabiotis withstands huge ionizing radiation doses, up to 20 000 Gy. Half the population survives 10 000 Gy, which is comparable to the hyper-radioresistant well-known prokaryote Deinococcus radiodurans. The cell metabolic profile investigated by nuclear magnetic resonance was hardly affected by radiation doses of up to 10 000 Gy. Its ability to fix radionuclides and toxic metals has also been examined. This outstanding microalga strongly accumulates radionuclides. As an example C. actinabiotis is able to concentrate 110mAg and 60Co by a factor 450 000 and 40 000, respectively. Therefore, this microalga combines both properties of extreme radioresistance and radionuclide accumulation, being able to fix radionuclide via metabolically inactive and active processes even in a highly radioactive environment, which is particularly interesting for 14C decontamination. It is therefore an excellent candidate for new remediation solutions in a highly radioactive environment. Its use for the bio-decontamination of radionuclides on a real-scale was validated in the storage pool of a nuclear facility (Rivasseau et al. 2013). Indeed, in one hour, the microalga revealed as effective as the conventional physico-chemical ion exchangers to purify nuclear effluents with 85% of decontamination in 24 h. Using this organism, an efficient real-scale radionuclide biodecontamination process was performed in a nuclear fuel storage pool with an important reduction of waste volume compared to the usual physico-chemical process. The feasibility of new decontamination solutions for the nuclear industry and for environmental clean-up operations was demonstrated.
We have also undertaken the study of the mechanisms involved in the accumulation and detoxification of two toxic metals, silver and cobalt (Leonardo et al. 2014). Elemental distribution inside C. actinabiotis cells was determined using synchrotron radiation nano X-ray fluorescence spectroscopy (SR-nXRF) at the ID22 nano fluorescence imaging beamline of the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility. The high resolution and high sensitivity of this technique enabled the assessment of elemental associations and exclusions in subcellular micro-algae compartments. A quantitative treatment of the scans was implemented to yield absolute concentrations of each endogenous and exogenous element with a spatial resolution of 100 nm and compared to the macroscopic content in cobalt and silver determined using ICP-MS. The nXRF imaging was complemented by TEM-EDS, yielding differential silver distribution in the cell wall, cytosol, nucleus, chloroplast and mitochondria with unique resolution. The analysis of endogenous elements in control cells revealed that iron had a unique distribution; zinc, potassium, manganese, molybdenum, and phosphate had their maxima co-localized in the same area; and sulphur, copper and chlorine were almost homogeneously distributed among the whole cell. The subcellular distribution and quantification of cobalt and silver in micro-alga, assessed after controlled exposure to various concentrations, revealed that exogenous metals were mainly sequestered inside the cell rather than on mucilage or cell wall, with preferential compartmentalization. Cobalt was homogeneously distributed outside of the chloroplast. Silver was localized in the cytosol at low concentration and in the whole cell excluding the nucleus at high concentration. Exposure to low concentrations of cobalt or silver did not alter the localization nor the concentration of endogenous elements within the cells. To our knowledge, this is the first report on element co-localization and segregation at the sub-cellular level in micro-algae by means of synchrotron nXRF.

Conception and development of a bioprocess pilot for the treatment of nuclear waste
The nuclear industry generates radioactive toxics and requires processes for their decontamination inside the facilities themselves and of the effluents released into the environment. Radionuclide decontamination is currently performed using physico-chemical methods. Despite their robustness and efficiency, these methods are expensive, do not remove completely certain elements, especially 14C, one of the main radionuclides released in effluents, and generate large volumes of secondary wastes when applied to environmental contaminations. Biological methods have proved to be efficient and competitive in various industrial applications. However, no viable method is presently available for the bio-decontamination of highly radioactive media. To address this issue we developed a treatment unit based on the use of the photosynthetic micro-alga, Coccomyxa actinabiotis. The technical specification was draft to design the process and construct the pilot unit taking into account the constraints linked to the use of a biological matrix in a nuclear environment. The pilot-scale treatment unit, based on this micro-alga, includes different tasks to ensure the objectives of the process: algae have first to be produced in a growth medium and harvested before ensuring the treatment of the contaminated effluent. The feasibility of these operations is studied at laboratory scale. Operating conditions and monitoring and optimization tools for each step, (i) biomass production, (ii) biomass separation and concentration by microfiltration (Gouvion Saint Cyr et al. 2014) (iii) effluent decontamination of silver-110m, cobalt-60, carbon-14, are sought. Based on the results obtained at laboratory scale, the feasibility of bio-decontamination of radionuclides by the micro-alga at pilot-scale was studied and demonstrated. Through this work, the development of an innovative process has to be considered for the decontamination of liquid effluents from the nuclear industry. This work has confirmed the high potential of algae to ensure the pollutants elimination.

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > Labo PCV > -- Équipe 4.0 Plantes, Stress ... > Thématiques de recherche > Coccomyxa actinabiotis - Phycoremédiation

Équipe Plantes, Stress & Métaux

Coccomyxa actinabiotis - Phycoremédiation

Publié le 30 janvier 2017



Coccomyxa actinabiotis, une microalgue extrêmement résistante aux rayonnements ionisants et aux métaux. Aspects fondamentaux et appliqués.
Nous avons caractérisé les propriétés d'une nouvelle microalgue découverte dans un environnement nucléaire à rayonnement ionisant élevé. Cette algue a été isolée d'une piscine utilisée pour stocker des éléments de combustible usé dans un réacteur nucléaire. La nouvelle espèce, identifiée au niveau morphologique, biochimique et génomique, appartient au genre Coccomyxa et a été nommée Coccomyxa actinabiotis, à partir des caractéristiques de l'endroit où elle vit (Rivasseau et al. 2010; 2013) Sa radiorésistance évaluée à l'aide d'analyses physiologiques et métaboliques est remarquable pour un eucaryote. C. actinabiotis supporte d'énormes doses de rayonnements ionisants, jusqu'à 20 000 Gy. La moitié de la population survit à 10 000 Gy, ce qui est comparable au procaryote hyper-radiorésistant bien connu Deinococcus radiodurans. Le profil métabolique cellulaire étudié par résonance magnétique nucléaire n'a guère été affecté par des doses de rayonnement allant jusqu'à 10 000 Gy. Sa capacité à fixer les radionucléides et les métaux toxiques a également été examinée. Cette microalgue exceptionnelle accumule fortement les radionucléides. A titre d'exemple, C. actinabiotis est capable de concentrer 110mAg et 60Co d'un facteur 450 000 et 40 000, respectivement. Par conséquent, cette microalgue combine à la fois des propriétés de radiorésistance extrême et d'accumulation de radionucléides, capable de fixer les radionucléides via des processus métaboliquement inactifs et actifs même dans un environnement fortement radioactif, ce qui est particulièrement intéressant pour la décontamination 14C. C'est donc un excellent candidat pour de nouvelles solutions d'assainissement dans un environnement hautement radioactif. Son utilisation pour la bio-décontamination des radionucléides à l'échelle réelle a été validée dans le réservoir de stockage d'une installation nucléaire (Rivasseau et al. 2013). En effet, en une heure, la microalgue s'est révélée aussi efficace que les échangeurs d'ions physico-chimiques conventionnels pour purifier les effluents nucléaires avec 85% de décontamination en 24 h. À l'aide de cet organisme, un processus efficace de biodécontamination de radionucléides à échelle réelle a été réalisé dans un réservoir de stockage de combustible nucléaire avec une réduction importante du volume de déchets par rapport au processus physico-chimique habituel. La faisabilité de nouvelles solutions de décontamination pour l'industrie nucléaire et pour les opérations de nettoyage environnemental a été démontrée.
Nous avons également entrepris l'étude des mécanismes impliqués dans l'accumulation et la détoxification de deux métaux toxiques, l'argent et le cobalt (Leonardo et al. 2014). La distribution élémentaire à l'intérieur des cellules de C. actinabiotis a été déterminée à l'aide de la spectroscopie de fluorescence X à rayonnement synchrotron nano (SR-nXRF) au niveau de la ligne d'imagerie à nano fluorescence ID22 de la European Synchrotron Radiation Facility. La haute résolution et la grande sensibilité de cette technique ont permis d'évaluer les associations élémentaires et les exclusions dans les compartiments sous-cellulaires de microalgues. Un traitement quantitatif des scans a été mis en œuvre pour obtenir des concentrations absolues de chaque élément endogène et exogène avec une résolution spatiale de 100 nm et comparée à la teneur macroscopique dans le cobalt et l'argent déterminée par ICP-MS. L'imagerie nXRF a été complétée par TEM-EDS, ce qui a donné une distribution différentielle d'argent dans la paroi cellulaire, le cytosol, le noyau, les chloroplastes et les mitochondries avec une résolution unique. L'analyse des éléments endogènes dans les cellules de contrôle a révélé que le fer avait une distribution unique ; le zinc, le potassium, le manganèse, le molybdène et le phosphate avaient leurs maxima co-localisés dans la même zone. Le soufre, le cuivre et le chlore étaient répartis presque homogènement dans toute la cellule. La distribution subcellulaire et la quantification du cobalt et de l'argent dans la microalgue, évaluées après exposition contrôlée à diverses concentrations, ont révélé que les métaux exogènes étaient principalement séquestrés à l'intérieur de la cellule plutôt que sur le mucilage ou la paroi cellulaire, avec une compartimentation préférentielle. Le cobalt était réparti de façon homogène à l'extérieur du chloroplaste. L'argent a été localisé dans le cytosol à faible concentration et dans la cellule entière à l'exclusion du noyau à forte concentration. L'exposition à de faibles concentrations de cobalt ou d'argent n'a pas altéré la localisation ni la concentration d'éléments endogènes dans les cellules. À notre connaissance, il s'agit du premier rapport sur la co-localisation des éléments et la ségrégation au niveau sous-cellulaire dans les micro-algues au moyen du synchrotron nXRF.

Conception et développement d'un pilote de bioprocédés pour le traitement des déchets nucléaires
L'industrie nucléaire génère des substances toxiques radioactives et nécessite des procédés de décontamination à l'intérieur des installations elles-mêmes et des effluents rejetés dans l'environnement. La décontamination des radionucléides est actuellement effectuée en utilisant des méthodes physico-chimiques. Malgré leur robustesse et leur efficacité, ces méthodes sont coûteuses, ne suppriment pas complètement certains éléments, notamment le 14C, l'un des principaux radionucléides libérés dans les effluents, et génèrent de grands volumes de déchets secondaires lorsqu'ils sont appliqués à des contaminations environnementales. Les méthodes biologiques se sont révélées efficaces et compétitives dans diverses applications industrielles. Cependant, aucune méthode viable n'est actuellement disponible pour la biodécontamination de milieux hautement radioactifs. Pour résoudre ce problème, nous avons développé une unité de traitement basée sur l'utilisation de la micro-algue photosynthétique Coccomyxa actinabiotis. La spécification technique a été élaborée pour concevoir le processus et construire l'unité pilote en tenant compte des contraintes liées à l'utilisation d'une matrice biologique dans un environnement nucléaire. L'unité de traitement à l'échelle pilote, basée sur cette microalgue, comprend différentes tâches pour assurer les objectifs du processus : les algues doivent d'abord être produites dans un milieu de croissance et récoltées avant d'assurer le traitement des effluents contaminés. La faisabilité de ces opérations est étudiée à l'échelle du laboratoire. (i) la production de biomasse, (ii) la séparation et la concentration de la biomasse par microfiltration (Gouvion Saint Cyr et al. 2014) (iii) la décontamination des effluents d'argent-110m, de cobalt-60, de carbone -14, sont recherchés. Sur la base des résultats obtenus à l'échelle du laboratoire, la faisabilité de la bio-décontamination des radionucléides par la microalgue à l'échelle pilote a été étudiée et démontrée. Grâce à ce travail, le développement d'un procédé innovant doit être envisagé pour la décontamination des effluents liquides de l'industrie nucléaire. Ce travail a confirmé le potentiel élevé des algues pour assurer l'élimination des polluants.