You are here : Home > Evaluation > Main Experts


Evaluation Process

Main Experts

​Applications are assessed in four review panels by at least three experts. Each panel is chaired by one main expert, who assesses all the proposals submitted in his research field over the whole duration of the programme. 

Published on 24 October 2016

Dr. Nicolas Wyrsch was born in 1960 and studied physics at the ETH Zurich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology). After obtaining his diploma in 1984,​​ he joined the group of Prof. Shah at the Institute of Microtechnology (IMT) of the​​​ University of Neuchâtel (Switzerland) ​to contribute to the development of a-Si:H solar cells, focusing on the study of the material's electronic properties​. After a stay at Princeton University in the United States, he obtained his Ph.D. from the University of Neuchatel in 1991. Since then, he has been team leader in the laboratory of photovoltaics (PV-LAB) of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne​ (EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland). His interests and main activities are focused on the development of silicon solar cells (more particularly​ on energy scavenging), functional layers, particle sensors and imagers, as well as on the integration of photovoltaic systems in the electric grid. He is author and co-author of more than 140 scientific publications.​


Dr. Lionel Buchaillot, PhD Mechanical Engineering is a Senior Researcher at CNRS, France, and the Director of the Institute of Electronics, Microelectronics and Nanotechnology (IEMN, Lille, France) since 2010. During the years 1991-1995, he has been interested in the contact mechanics of ultrasonic motors and the development of thin film shape memory alloys actuators for MEMS in the Laboratory for Integrated MicroMechatronic Systems at the University of Tokyo, Japan. In 1997, he worked as an R&D engineer for SFIM (now SAFRAN) and AVIAC Technologies Company. In 1998, he joined CNRS working in the field of silicon-based MEMS at IEMN. His research focuses on mechanical sensors and systems, RF MEMS / MEMS for microwaves and scientific micro- and nano-instruments. 
He is presently the editor of the IEEE Journal of Microelectromechanical Systems and of the IOP Journal of micromechanics and Microengineering. He is recipient of the CNRS Bronze medal.​​​​

    ​Dr. Jean-Jacques Leguay, PhD Biology, is a Research Director at Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS, France). During the years 1986-1994, he worked for Sanofi (now Sanofi Aventis) in the development of new technics for genetic engineering. In 1994 he was appointed Director of the Institute for Environmental Biology and Biotechnology (IBEB) at CEA-Cadarache which is dedicated to research in the fields of plants and microorganisms responses to environmental stress. He then served as Adjunct Director of the CEA Life Sciences Division in 2004 until his retirement in 2007. Afterwards, he was Vice-President of the Scientific Committee of the French High Council for Biotechnologies and Scientific Advisor for BIOVISION, a world forum in Life Sciences that holds a yearly meeting in Lyon (France). He is presently Scientific Advisor for CEA. He received the CNRS bronze medal.

​   Prof. Muhsin Harakeh was a Professor of Physics at Free University of Amsterdam (1985-1993) and at University of Groningen thereafter at the KVI (Nuclear Physics Accelerator Institute, NL) where he was appointed Director from January 1996 to December 2008. His research interests are in nuclear structure, nuclear reactions, nuclear astrophysics, few-body physics and astro​particle physics. He has served on many advisory committees of international facilities, physics departments, and has been member and chairman of a number of Editorial Boards of international scientific journals. He was the first director of the International Research School FANTOM. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society since 1994 and a member of the Academia Europaea since 2008 and has been elected chair of Physics and Engineering Section of the latter in 2012. He has been decorated in 2008 as Officer in the order of Orange-Nassau for his achievements.