You are here : Home > About CEA > OECD’s Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA)

OECD’s Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA)

Published on 28 June 2016

​The Nuclear Energy Agency, created in 1958, is a specialised agency within the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), an inter-governmental agency based in Paris. The role of the NEA is to help the member countries maintain and develop the scientific, technological and legal foundations essential for safe, environmentally-friendly and economic use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes. The NEA is thus a forum for sharing information and experience and for promoting international cooperation. It comprises 30 member countries which hold nearly 85% of the world’s nuclear fleet (installed power).

The NEA’s programme of work is carried out by 7 international technical committees dealing with nuclear sciences, regulatory nuclear activities, installations safety, waste management, technical and economic studies on the development of nuclear energy and the fuel cycle, nuclear law and radiological protection and public health.