You are here : Home > The institute > Interdisciplinary Research Institute of Grenoble

Interdisciplinary Research Institute of Grenoble

Published on 21 June 2019
GENERAL PRESENTATION OF THE INSTITUTE

 
Jérôme GARIN

Director

C3-342
04 38 78 45 01
04 38 78 51 55

Pascale BAYLE-GUILLEMAUD

Deputy Director

C5-419C
04 38 78 99 50
04 38 78 51 53
 
CEA's Fundamental Research Division (DRF) is active in the fields of physics, chemistry, biology and health, materials sciences, climate sciences and the environment. Within this department, the IRIG institute, created on January 1st, 2019 by bringing together 3 former Grenoble institutes of the DRF (IBS, BIG and INAC), conducts research in biology, health, nanosciences, cryotechnologies and new technologies for energy and the environment. Physicists, chemists, biologists, physicians, computer scientists and mathematicians participate jointly in this fundamental research and the applications that result from it, giving the institute a remarkable capacity to respond to major societal challenges.

IRIG welcomes about 1000 people who carry out their research activities in a joint research unit (UMR). The 10 UMR of the institute are supervised by the CEA and University Grenoble Alpes; some of them have additional trusteeship which may be the CNRS, Inserm or Inra. These UMRs are grouped into five disciplinary departments.

The scientific excellence that is developed within the teams and all the expertise gathered within the IRIG allow the development of multidisciplinary research. This research is based on a very exceptional park of research platforms and infrastructures: FRISBI (National Infrastructure of Integrative Structural Biology), ProFI (National Proteomics Infrastructure), PFNC (Nano Characterization Platform), Upstream Technology Platform (PTA), 400W cryogenics station, CRG ESRF & ILL lines, Integrated Structural Biology Platforms, etc. Research work is generally carried out in the framework of national and international academic partnerships; they lead to many applications, allowing IRIG to develop and develop industrial partnerships with start-ups, SMEs and large companies.

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > L'institut > Institut de recherche interdisciplinaire de Grenoble

Institut de recherche interdisciplinaire de Grenoble

Publié le 3 janvier 2023

PRÉSENTATION GÉNÉRALE DE L'INSTITUT




Pascale BAYLE-GUILLEMAUD
Directrice de l'Irig
Annie ANDRIEUX
Directrice adjointe de l'Irig
Aymeric SPERANDIO
Adjoint opérationnel de l'Irig

La Direction de la Recherche Fondamentale (DRF) du CEA exerce son activité dans les domaines de la physique, de la chimie, de la biologie et la santé, des sciences des matériaux, des sciences du climat et de l’environnement. Au sein de cette direction, l’institut Irig, créé le 1er janvier 2019 par le rapprochement des 3 anciens instituts grenoblois de la DRF (IBS, Big et Inac), mène des recherches en biologie, santé, nanosciences, cryotechnologies et nouvelles technologies pour l’énergie et l’environnement. Physiciens, chimistes, biologistes, médecins, informaticiens et mathématiciens participent conjointement à cette recherche fondamentale et aux applications qui en découlent, conférant à l'institut une capacité remarquable pour répondre aux grands défis sociétaux.

L’Irig accueille environ 1000 personnes qui exercent leur activité de recherche dans une unité mixte de recherche (UMR). Les 9 UMR de l’institut ont pour tutelles le CEA et l'université Grenoble Alpes ; certaines d’entre elles ont une tutelle additionnelle qui peut être le CNRS, l’Inserm ou l’INRAE. Ces UMR sont regroupées en cinq départements disciplinaires.

L’excellence scientifique qui est développée au sein des équipes et l’ensemble des expertises qui sont réunies au sein de l’Irig permettent le développement de recherches multidisciplinaires. Ces recherches s’appuient sur un parc tout à fait exceptionnel de plates-formes et infrastructures de recherche : Frisbi (infrastructure nationale de biologie structurale intégrative), ProFI (infrastructure nationale de protéomique), PFNC (plateforme de nano caractérisation), Plate-forme technologique amont (PTA), station 400 W de cryogénie, lignes CRG ESRF & ILL, Plates-formes de biologie structurale intégrée, … Les travaux de recherche sont généralement menés dans le cadre de partenariats académiques nationaux et internationaux ; ils conduisent à de nombreuses applications, permettant à l’Irig de valoriser et développer des partenariats industriels avec des start-up, des PME et de grandes entreprises.







38054 Grenoble cedex 09, France 

Tel. : 04 38 78 45 01 - Fax : 04 38 78 51 55